Disclaimer: This is a user generated content submitted by a member of the WriteUpCafe Community. The views and writings here reflect that of the author and not of WriteUpCafe. If you have any complaints regarding this post kindly report it to us.

Horror movies belong to one of the most popular film genres. A number of horror movies have been made in Hollywood throughout the years. Some of them become blockbusters, while some are considered low culture films. Nowadays, horror movies are gaining more popularity by introducing unique and fearful movies and winning awards regularly. When it comes to Academy Awards, horror movies have received a number of awards for their tremendous work. The film Parasite was released in 2019 and won several Academy Awards, but the film does not belong to the horror genre. It is possible because new movies are challenging the genre. In this article, we have listed five previous horror movies that won several major awards.

Whatever Happened To Baby Jane? (1962)

Whatever Happened To Baby Jane? is an excellent psychological horror thriller movie, which was directed and produced by Robert Aldrich. The film was released in 1962. The story of the film revolves around two sisters Jane and Blanche, portrayed by Bette Davis and Joan Crawford, respectively. The sisters are aging children, and both plot to get rid of each other. Blanche is bound to a wheelchair and Jane wants to get rid of her. Similarly, Blanche also plots to get rid of Jane because of a car accident, which was the reason for her paralysis. The film was nominated for various Academy Awards, and also the actress Bette Davis, who is in the lead role, won the awards for Best Actress and Best Costume Design.

Black Swan (2010)

Black Swan is another popular psychological horror film released in the year 2010. It was directed by Darren Aronofsky. Vincent Cassel and Natalie Portman are in the lead role. They portray the characters of Nina Sayers as The Swan Queen and Thomas Leroy as The Gentleman, along with several other actors. The story of the film tells us about a ballet called Swan Lake by the New York City Ballet company. The film includes specific ballet and professional dancing. In Swan Lake, Nina has been shown as a striving lead dancer, who will do whatever she can to get the part in Swan Lake and reaches to her dark side when she realizes that Lily as The Black Swan portrayed by Mila Kunis is a great competitor. However, you can consider this film more of a thriller, but it also has some visuals that might be related to the horror genre. Black Swan was nominated for many Academy Awards, and the actress Natalie Portman was awarded an Oscar for Best Actress.

The Fly (1986)

The Fly is a Sci-Fi psychological horror movie, which was released in the year 1986. It was directed by David Cronenberg. The film was Produced by Brooksfilms. Jeff Goldblum portrays the character of  Seth Brundle, and Geena Davis portrays the character of Veronica “Ronnie” Quaife in the film The Fly. The film focuses on a scientist, Jeff, who successfully builds a teleportation device. He tests the device himself, but a fly flies into the second pod. Due to this, his genes get spliced, and he slowly turns into a fly. The film was nominated for an Academy Award and also won the awards for Best Makeup and Hairstyling.

Misery (1990)

Misery is one of the most famous psychological thriller films, which was released in the year 1990. It was directed by Rob Reiner. The film is an adaptation of the novel written by Stephen King in the year 1987. The film stars James Caan and Kathy Bates in the lead roles portraying the characters of Paul Sheldon and Annie Wilkes, respectively. The story of the film follows an author, Sheldon, who has been held hostage by Annie, one of his biggest fans. It is one of the best movies by Kathy Bates, and she won an Academy Award for Best Actress.

Sleepy Hollow (1999)

Sleepy Hollow is an excellent supernatural horror film, which was released in the year 1999 and directed by Tim Burton. Johnny Depp and Christina Ricci are in the lead roles and portray the characters of Ichabod Crane and Katrina Van Tassel in the film. The film was considered for the Academy Award because of its stunning visuals and imagery. Sleepy Hollow was nominated for various awards for Cinematography and Costumes and won an Oscar for Best Production Design.

This article discussed the five best Hollywood horror movies that won various major awards and concluded that all of the above-listed films possess great potential and contain amazing storylines, which is the reason for their huge popularity.

Source: 5 Horror Films That Won Major Awards


Welcome to WriteUpCafe Community

Join our community to engage with fellow bloggers and increase the visibility of your blog.
Join WriteUpCafe