Disclaimer: This is a user generated content submitted by a member of the WriteUpCafe Community. The views and writings here reflect that of the author and not of WriteUpCafe. If you have any complaints regarding this post kindly report it to us.

IGCSE curriculum– IGCSE stands for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education, developed by the University of Cambridge International Examinations. It is a two-year programme for candidates aged 14 to 16 years, starting at the Class 9 level. IGCSE examinations are recognized globally.

IGCSE provides a wide and flexible study program and covers subjects from different areas: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Creative, Technical and Vocational.  For each subject one takes, one receives an “IGCSE” qualification.

IGCSE curriculum- Five subject groups:

IGCSE syllabus deals with these 5 subjects and they are:

Group 1: Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc)

Group 2: Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, etc)

Group 3: Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc)

Group 4: Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, etc)

Group 5: Creative, Technical & Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, Music, etc)

Students are required to take a maximum of 14 subjects or a minimum of 5. To know which schools follow the IGCSE curriculum and for any further queries Register yourself, so that our experts can assist you in a better way.

IGCSE is the most popular curriculum due to the diversity of the course.

IGCSE Curriculum- Focus Areas

IGCSE focuses on developing the student’s understanding, skill, and knowledge in the following areas:

  • Subject content
  • The application of knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness
  • The flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Intellectual enquiry

IGCSE Syllabus- Uniqueness

The IGCSE syllabus is planned keeping an international prospect in mind. Although, it tries to keep a local relevance for each region. The IGCSE syllabus is developed for an international student body and keeps away any kind of cultural bias.

Concept of ‘Grade threshold’ under the IGCSE?

The minimum grade or marks that a candidate needs to obtain in every exam he/she has taken is known as Grade threshold. It is set after every exam series. The main aim of setting the grade threshold is to set a rough limit so as to ensure that the grade is neither too easy nor too difficult from the previous year to obtain. Just in case if the questions in the paper were difficult the threshold is reduced and vice-versa is done.

It’s not an easy process to set the threshold so that each candidate scores well. Therefore, it requires a lot of study and examination of the previous trends to set the grade threshold. It is not that simplified as it looks. You can check on the official website to see how the limit is set, marking and grading are done.

IGCSE curriculum- Advantages

  • The course offers 30 languages to choose from.
  • IGCSE imparts critical thinking and problem-solving attitude in the students.
  • IGCSE qualification is recognized globally.
  • For IGCSE exams private candidates can also apply
  • The curriculum is designed as per the local students it doesn’t follow a strict pattern and has a set structure.


Welcome to WriteUpCafe Community

Join our community to engage with fellow bloggers and increase the visibility of your blog.
Join WriteUpCafe