Disclaimer: This is a user generated content submitted by a member of the WriteUpCafe Community. The views and writings here reflect that of the author and not of WriteUpCafe. If you have any complaints regarding this post kindly report it to us.

Jewellery – Symbols And Their Meanings – Aura Jewels

Jewellery is something that adds up to the look of the entire garment, boosting up the personality of the individual. There are so many metals, so many stones, so many designs, so many motifs to choose from! When you are choosing from an available collection of jewels, you already have the metals, stones, and motifs sorted. But, when you plan up on customizing your jewellery, which is what today’s millennials prefer, there is a lot to be considered. 

Although what metal to wear, what stone to have studded, and what type of jewellery depends on personal choice, there is one thing that needs to be chosen with great care; and that is the motif. Every metal (gold/silver), every stone (diamond/ruby/emerald), and every jewellery piece (ring/pendant/earring) can look great only if the right motif is chosen. It is the motif that needs to be chosen with utmost care to suit your personality. There are so many motifs that you can choose from – some common, some unique. This blog will bring to your notice the most popularly used motifs that you can choose to make your pendants and charms. And, the best part is that each of these motifs conveys a meaning. Let’s understand the hidden meaning behind every popular motif; some you may know about, and others that may amaze you.


The heart is one of the most popular motifs used in both Indian and Western jewellery. It is a well-known fact that the heart represents love, which is why couple bands, couple pendants, couple bracelets, couple watches, and every other couple jewellery is generally made with a heart design, or engraved with heart(s). But, other than love, the heart also symbolizes affection, compassion, and unity. Although the heart was first worn by Christians in the ancient times believing that it was a symbol that represented Jesus Christ and his love for his devotees, it began transforming to a belief of love between any two or more individuals by the Middle Ages.


The Cross is the second most popular motif being used around the world. Just like the heart, it was first used only by the Christians as the Cross symbolized the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. But slowly and gradually, the Cross took on various forms and meanings; such as Crucifix, Celtic Cross, Orthodox Cross, Saint Peter Cross, Coptic Cross, Jerusalem Cross, Templar Cross, and Tau Cross. It thus has been worn by both Christians and non-Christians alike; some wear it as a religious symbol, or a belief of protection from the evil spirits, while others wear it as a pure fashion element. So, what do you want to wear a Cross as, and which Cross suits your style ?


The infinity symbol is another most popular symbol seen not only in India, but many other countries like China, Tibet, and Egypt. The symbol was first introduced by the English mathematician John Wallis way back in the 17th century. In Maths, it represents a number that is countless, signifying something that is endless. The same, when used in jewellery, represents unity and perfection. It also symbolizes time looping back, and endlessly over itself, and representing conjoining. Thus, when used in jewellery between two friends, two lovers, or two partners, it signifies never-ending friendship and love.

Animal motifs

Animals are of great importance in India. In fact, almost every God and Goddess in India is associated with one or the other form of animal. For example, Lord Shiva is closely connected with the serpent, Lord Krishna is associated with the peacock, Lord Ganesha himself has an Elephant head, and Goddesses have a lion or tiger as their “vehicle”. Thus, one who is very closely related to their religion may also prefer wearing a sacred animal motif. Serpent stands on Number 1 as the most favourite motif by Indian people, especially those who are the frenzied devotees of Lord Shiva, as it represents courage, violent potency, and swiftness. Other motifs include the fish representing abundance, the peacock representing beauty, the lion representing strength with courage, and the elephant representing strength with calmness.

Religious symbols

When we speak of Indian jewellery, we cannot deny the fact that religious symbols are of equal importance for the Indians. Whether it is the Om, Swastik, Ganesha, Trishul, Khanda, Wheel of Dharma, or anything else, every Indian – Hindu, Sikh, Muslim, Parsi, Buddhist, and every other religious Indian – has a connection with one or the other symbol. And, one would love to have their favourite religious symbol as their piece of jewellery.

So, what’s your pick? Make a choice and have your jewellery pieces designed perfectly for your personality and occasion. You can have the most perfect piece made at Aura Jewels, the most reliable and renowned customized jewellery shop in Rajajinagar Bangalore, where there’s a team of skilled artisans and talented designers to help you make your most personalized jewellery piece that can be admired forever!


What do you think?

Written by AuraJewels


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.



Alterations NYC

How to Find the Best Anti Aging Lotion That Can Get Rid of Age Spots