Disclaimer: This is a user generated content submitted by a member of the WriteUpCafe Community. The views and writings here reflect that of the author and not of WriteUpCafe. If you have any complaints regarding this post kindly report it to us.

In many Islamic countries, halal certification is given by the parliament.

In India, FSSAI (Food Safety and Standards Authority of India) certification can be seen on almost all the distilled foods, but this authority is not in charge of issuing halal certification in India. Many notable corporations give halal certification in India, which marks the food or products permissible for Islam’s followers. Significant halal certification corporations in India are:

1- Halal India Private Limited.

2- Halal Certification Services India Private Limited.

3- Jamiat Ulama-E-Maharashtra- A state unit of Jamiat Ulama-E-Hind. 

4- Jamiat Ulama-i-Hind Halal Trust. 

The major halal certification institute in Japan is the Muslim Professional Japan Association (MJPA). It provides the factories’ certification after ensuring that the output process meets the halal laws’ regulations.

The process of administering the certification starts when the halal certification application is submitted to MJPA. The MJPA evaluates the application and audits the site. After this, the case is presented before the Fatwa Committee for further examination. The certifying body evaluates the application. The next procedure is agreement and quotation. After that, the site is audited, and the case is further evaluated before the Fatwa Committee for evaluation. (Fatwa: a ruling on the point of Islamic law given by a recognized authority)

After the audit, the auditors decide whether the applicant should experience a lab examination of the stock. If the lab analysis is executed, and the results are favorable, the Fatwa Committee takes up the case. Upon its approval, the halal certificate is issued.

In Malaysia, the panel embodied with the duty of issuing and regulating the Halal Certification is JAKIM (Department of Islamic Development, Malaysia) and JAIN (the States Department of Religious Affairs). JAKIM was established to obtain and refine the requests for halal certificates both nationally and internationally. After processing the application, the JAKIM administers the site audit. After that, it launches the survey and examination of the products if the demand ensues. The audit report goes to the assessment and authorization panel. Once authorized, the certificate is administered.

Three various certification plots enclose consumable and non-consumable commodities, diet premises, and slaughterhouses. These strategies include product, premises, and Abattoir.

These procedures would ensure that the sources of the ingredients used are hall, and only suppliers having halal certification were dealt with. Moreover, it expects the applicants to hire at least two full-time Muslim Malaysian citizens in the kitchen or food processing and handling section. Also, it requires all the workers to practice the prescribed ordinance of morality and hygiene exercises.

The Islamic Services of America (ISA) and the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA) are the prominent halal certification bodies in the US.

ISA deals with halal certification criteria, laws, statutes, and strategies. After the agency receives an application, it starts an initial investigation into the case. It sends the synopsis to the applicant, which sends it back after finishing off the documentation. ISA’s halal Quality Assurance team reviews the product for adherence with the halal standards, after which the facility audit is conducted. Once all the halal certification requirements are completed, the body issues the certification.

ISA halal product categories include meat and poultry, bakery and food processing, dairy, cheese, and ice cream, flavors, and ingredients, vegetables and fruits, oils and cooking agents, medications, vitamins, and food supplements, fitness and glamour, and non-consumables like greases, packaging, filters, and minerals.

IFANCA awards a halal certificate in five steps. It conducts the on-site audit and decides whether to grant or reject the certificate. This institute can decide to reject the application if the applicant does not obey the halal rules and regulations.

Looking for Halal certification agency in Singapore? Then, visit Mandreel (MUIS Halal Certification Singapore)

No Comments
Comments to: Who Issues Halal Certificates?

Trending Stories

Scope of Fashion Industry Fashion has consistently been recognised to push the limits. With new ideas and trends, fashion has a focus on the future. The fashion industry will see enormous innovation in the upcoming years as modern technology, and changing customer demands and trends will transform the industry. With such stimulation and competition, the […]

Log In

Or with username:

Forgot password?

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.